Oatmeal

Fall 2011 056

I remember dappled sunlight, fresh morning air caressing my cheek, the crunch of gravel as our rental car pulled into the parking strip of the diner.

We settled in a window-side table. My nose, pressed to the glass, left a little smudge as I turned my head to sniff the steaming bowl the waitress placed before me.

“There y’are darlin’,” she smiled.

I dug into my first bowl of grits, and nearly licked it in my youthful enthusiasm.

Hot cereal is wonderful comfort.  It was used as mortar in Scottish history, I prefer it sweet and steaming – for my breakfast.

1/4 c. steel cut oats

3/4 c. water

1/8 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. fruit preserves ( alt.: 1/2 c. fresh fruit; 1/4 c. maple syrup)

Simmer oats in water, stirring, until desired consistency. (I like it best, when the oats are smooth and a wooden spoon drawn through oats leaves a trail.) Stir in salt.  Stir in butter until melted.  Stir in preserves.

What do you think?

